While marijuana is legal for medical or recreational use in 38 states, Indiana is not one of them. If Indiana law enforcement catches you with marijuana on your person, you could face potential legal ramifications.
Indiana law classifies possessing marijuana, no matter the amount, as a class B misdemeanor. If it’s your first time facing drug charges, you could pay up to $1,000, spend as long as 180 days in jail, or both.
These punishments are harsher for people who received prior marijuana charges. Possessing more than 30 grams with a prior drug offense could mean paying up to $10,000, spending up to 2.5 years behind bars, or both.
Having marijuana concentrates
The U.S. marijuana boom led companies to produce all sorts of products containing THC, including butter, batter and other concentrated forms of this drug. If Indiana police catch you with 5 grams or more of concentrated marijuana, you can face felony charges of up to 2.5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Possessing 300 grams or more of concentrated marijuana is also a felony carrying a $10,000 fine and up to six years behind bars.
Selling and/or cultivating marijuana
Drug charges in Indiana are typically more severe for people attempting to grow and/or sell marijuana. Growing or selling less than 30 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor.
Growing or attempting to sell more than 10 pounds of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to six years of incarceration and a fine of up to $10,000. As with marijuana possession, harsher punishments are typical for repeat offenders.