Driving while intoxicated in Indiana can impair your ability to handle your vehicle correctly. You must stay within the law’s legal limits to ensure you and others stay safe when operating an automobile or boat. Failure to follow the law can lead to a charge of “Operating While Intoxicated” (OWI), license suspension or worse if you get into an accident.
Following legal limits is crucial
The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) determines the severity of your inebriation when operating an automobile or boat. It’s essential for you to stay under the legal limit set at 0.08 percent to follow the law. Even then, driving can be impaired when you have a BAC of 0.06 percent. Staying sober when you’re operating a boat or automobile ensures you have your full faculties, allowing you to avoid an accident.
DUI penalties in Indiana
The first time you get pulled over and are found to be over the legal limit, your license will be placed on administrative suspension for as long as 180 days. If you’re convicted of 0WI, your driver’s license may be suspended for more time, ranging from 90 days to two years, depending on how the court rules.
Consequences of losing your driver’s license
A suspended license presents multiple challenges. You will eventually need to apply for reinstatement to get your license back. These fees include $150 initially, $225 the second time and $300 the third time.
Driving while intoxicated isn’t worth it, as it can increase the odds of getting into an accident. You can also lose the ability to use your car and have to pay expensive fees. Following the law is best to avoid these consequences and keep your driving privileges from being compromised.